Accreditation & More

Covenant Theological Seminary is incorporated by the State of North Carolina and registered with the North Carolina Department of Education (Higher Education | as a religious educational institution giving degrees in the following disciplines:

1. Associate of Biblical Studies (60 credit hours) 
2. Bachelor of Biblical Studies or Ministry (120 credit hours) 
3. Master of Ministry (30 credit hours) 
4. Doctor of Ministry (36 credit hours) 
5. Doctoral Research Degrees* (45-60 credit hours with a dissertation)


CTS is accredited by the Association of Independent
Christian College & Seminaries and the American
Accrediting Association of Theological Institutions.

CTS is in a continual process of seeking the best accreditation available.

*The Doctor of Theology—ThD, Doctor of Christian Education—DCE, Doctor of Christian Counseling—DCC & PhD &  the Doctor of Sacred Lettersdissertation of 150+ pages.

Covenant Theological Seminary purposes to train students in and for evangelical and orthodox Christian ministry. All degrees of Covenant Theological Seminary are of an ecclesiastical nature, and whether granted or conferred, are in the restricted area of religion with the special purpose of preparing persons to work in the area of religion, whether educational or ministerial.

To help ensure and enhance the quality of student learning across its degree programs, CTS tracks and reviews graduation and retention rates, as well as direct and indirect measures of student experience and student learning, such as student surveys, course evaluations, and the direct assessment of student learning measured against clearly stated learning outcomes.

Student Graduation & Retention Rates

3-Year Average Retention Rates by Degree Program Type

Degree Program Graduate Percentage
Religious M.A. 91.9%
Professional M.A. 89.0%
Academic M.A. 85.7%
D. MIn 94.7%
Th.D. and Ph.D. 100.0%
Overall 90.9%







We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By agreeing you accept the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.